Vote for your Scottish Book of the Year!

Members of the public only have until 31 July 2011 (aka tomorrow!) to cast their vote for the Scottish Book of the Year. The winner of this prize will be determined through a combination scoring system that combines public vote with judges’ ratings.

The Scottish Book of the Year award is the culmination of the Scottish Mortgate Investment Trust Book Awards, run in partnership with Creative Scotland. The winners in each of the four awards category comprise the shortlist for the overall Scottish Book of the Year prize, which has a £25,000 prize. The winner will be anounced on 26 August at the Edinburgh International Festival.

The four category winners are:
Fiction – Leila Aboulela, Lyrics Alley (Weidenfeld & Nicholson)
Non-fiction: Jackie Kay, Red Dust Road (Picador)
Poetry: Stewart Conn, The Breakfast Room (Bloodaxe)
First book: Sue Peebles, The Death of Lomond Friel (Vintage)

To vote for your favourite, go to

This entry was posted in Writing News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.